Madness Radio: Madness and Renewal Michael Cornwall


First Aired 9-1-2012

What if people struggling with madness could explore their emotions in a supportive sanctuary? Do frightening 'psychotic' experiences have the power to transform and heal? Is breakdown also breakthrough? Michael Cornwall became a therapist after surviving his own crisis -- without medication or psychiatric treatment. For more than 30 years he has worked in the tradition of Carl Jung and R.D. Laing to support people to go through psychotic
states in medication-free community settings, including
John Weir Perry's Diabasis House in the 1970s.
http://www.madinamerica.com/author/mcorn...
http://altmentalities.files.wordpress.co...

thank you for this insightful and inspiring interview, peace, nancy

This reminds me of a group in Portland that is committed to community support for alternatives to tradition psychiatry. It's called Rethinking Psychiatry. I keep thinking the Dick Price / Esalen model would be of great help to their work/efforts.

Thank you for doing this important work.

Juliet

http://www.rethinkingpsychiatry.org/

Share your comment

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <b> <i>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

I'd like some help with the formatting codes.

CAPTCHA
Are you spam or not?